Weekend without laptop

You might wonder why it is that difficult for me to have a weekend without laptop.
See, I am this single girl in her mid twenties, with no boyfriend and doing a software job with hobbies like reading, watching movies and tv shows. In short, I am the geek who doesn’t hack and write code but do all other techie things.
So, these electronic devices play a big role in my life.  I literally spend 15 to 18 hours of my day using either my phone or laptop. Mostly, its the laptop. I either work, read a blog or book, or watch a movie or some tv show. That should explain my rapidly changing eye sight. It increased by 2 points in the last few months.
This Friday, with all my extensive usage, it seems like I fried my laptop’s adapter. It just did some “tup” sound and stopped charging and I had to shut down to have enough power for any emergency situation. Since it is an office laptop, I need to wait till Monday to get it fixed.
Tell you the truth, with no new movie releases this week and my besties out of town, I was worried about how to spend the weekend. I was sure that I would be bored to death. I even decided that its time I get myself a tablet.
But reality turned out to be different. It seems like I have been ignoring many things. In fact, many important things, while I was busy, doing rounds in my own world of movies, tv shows, work and ebooks. Today, i got the long pending blood tests done, did all the grocery shopping, slept for 3 hours during the day, read, cleaned and sorted out my racks, books, room and what not, and also managed to have real talks with real people.
I even made a list of things that I can(should) do tomorrow. Each and everything in the list is important and I have no idea how I was postponing them all these days. I am so happy to look around and find a neat and clean room looking back at me. I am surprised to see the number of real books that I bought, but didn’t read. Here is a pic of all my books, that somehow made mw buy them, but couldn’t make me read! I plan not to buy any new books until I finish all of these.

image

All the while, I forgot about my blogathon and hence the last minute post. Its not that I forgot the task, but I didn’t have time. I was too busy doing all the things I was talking about. The one time I opened WordPress to write up something, I ended up reading all those amazing freshly pressed posts and the ones I subscribed. I was lost in the reading world.
It is so surprising to me that I didn’t have at least one dull moment for the entire day. I’m sure tomorrow will be the same. This is some kind of slap on the cheek to me. I realised how much time I am literally killing doing nothing productive(I still am not sure) , by being away from the real world. So, I decided not to use my laptop at least for one day in a week. I can use my mobile for anything really important. Let’s see how it goes. This way I get to read more books and I don’t think I will be regretting the decision. So, this is my Saturday without laptop. πŸ™‚

Hope you all are enjoying your weekend. Have a nice sunday… yayy. I posted on time.:)

Love
Sahasra

10 thoughts on “Weekend without laptop

  1. Yay! You posted on time! I so badly wanted to remind youπŸ˜€
    This is the case with me too. So I make sure, infact, Joy makes sure that I don’t touch the laptop that often. With him around, anyways not possible.

    • πŸ™‚ I’m glad I did. You really are reading me. It really is a nice thing to know.
      I can really see how much addicted I was to this laptop. Glad you have someone who can help you stay away from this evil thing. I know, the evil is in my mind. But you know, we blame the materials not the source. :p
      Have a nice sunday.

  2. Somehow we forget how much these gadgets influence our life, and now with these new phones that are almost mini laptops one is never away from technology.

    that is a lot of books , reminds me i need to do a lot of reading myself but just cant manage.

    • Yepp. I am posting from my phone but I tend to use my laptop more and hence the problem.
      That is a big list of books. I just am not sure why I couldn’t read them when I am so interested in buying them!
      Good luck with your reading. Hope you find some time for it. πŸ™‚

      • hmmm well i need all the luck but sadly time is something i dont have much of ..

        no no no i am not dieing or something πŸ™‚ its just the work shifts and since i do Two completely different type of work, it makes almost 16-17 hours and then i am too tired to do anything and BED is the best bet and BLisssssssssssssss

  3. A weekend without the laptop or the internet is bliss.. but if not the laptop there is that thing called the smart phone! Lovely you, same intentions for the new year for me as well.. I have piled up so many books because of these many books by kg sales, that no more books until I finish reading at least a 10 of them or so.. πŸ™‚
    Dropped in from Seema’s

    • πŸ™‚ thank you for the visit.
      I know, phone is equally addictive. But to me, the real comfort lies with laptop. I need something bigger than my smartphone screen. I do watch movies, write posts & mails, update social networks from my phone but it is relatively less compared to the screen time I dedicate to my dear lappy. That’s what made the difference.
      And books, yes, thanks to the failed adapter, I sorted out my book rack and opened an actual book. πŸ™‚ Good luck with your rule. I know how difficult it is. :p.
      Have a great day. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

