Your Dreams are Mine Now, by Ravinder Singh

Frankly speaking, i like Ravinder Singh. I liked his first book a lot. I have been reading Ravinder for the quality he gave with the first one and i am disappointed this time. All I expect from him is a sweet love story that i can really love and feel. But no. This one’s a disappointment.
I must tell you, the cover is misleading. The prologue, is something i really hate in this book. I think it is so stupid to reveal a tragic climax in the form of prologue. This prologue made me feel sad. It did not let me enjoy the beautiful and happy parts of the book. I mean, how could you understand and feel the sadness or intensity of pain when you have never really felt or known real happiness.
Talking about that, the book has its own share of happy and cool moments. This book has a promising start(If you choose to ignore the prologue!). But then the author chooses to eat pages to set up the plot. That was one long drag.
I loved the equation the two leads shared. I liked the way the author shaped up characters and how he made the whole plot revolve around the girl. But then, at some point, i started feeling that he is putting too much into the life of a first year college girl.
Then comes the politics part. I am not sure if DU is really that way. But i never came across such politics during my college life and i only learnt about them through movies, old books and stories from parents. It was too distant to relate. But i guess that’s all a part of the plot and is okay to read.
As i told you earlier, the prologue killed me first. It told me that the story is going to have a sad ending. Now, why would you read a love story when you already know that it is going to end badly. For such books, the plot and the love story have to be so strong that people should forget the end by getting soΒ involved in the plot and they should feel a natural pain when you actually take them through the tragedy. But with a weak story line, it is too daring to reveal the tragic part in the prologue. I love Ravinder Singh for the wonderful feeling he creates with those love stories. And if i fail to get that feeling because of a prologue, then i am wondering what’s there to read or enjoy in that book. He either should have had a strong plot or a different or no prologue.
And then, why take the idea from the Nirbhaya case for the end? I really don’t understand this. Couldn’t he think of any better idea? For some reason, i did not like him using the case. I wish he came up with something better and different to end the story. I don’t mean a happy ending, but i mean a better reason or idea to reach the tragic end is also okay.
If i am given a choice, i would read his first book again and end my day with a happy feeling rather than be annoyed by reading this one.

Hope you all have a great day. Bye.

Love
Sahasra

8 thoughts on “Your Dreams are Mine Now, by Ravinder Singh

    • πŸ™‚ Looks like i created an Anti-fan πŸ˜›
      My post was so negative because i felt a sadness follow me through out the book. I was really upset that the author made me feel so even when i am reading happy things.

  1. I haven’t read any of his books, but today accidentally, I stumbled upon his pic and I think he really looks cute! :p :p

    P.S. – Have been reading every post of yours; just been a little lazy to comment! πŸ™‚

    • He is cute. How do you think I found him first. :p πŸ™‚ No, I liked his first book a lot. And then the next 3 were okayish. I really wish he doesn’t stay a one book wonder.
      πŸ™‚ Thank you. It really is nice to know.

  2. It is an excellent read.The one every Indian must read .The author has clearly portrayed the issues that are currently spreading in India.

    Even though the love story of Arjun and Rupali is very short , as the story majorly revolves around various issues,it is beautiful.

    Those who expect only love story , leave the thought and read it, its much more worth it.

    • To each, his own. I’m just wondering how that book can be a must read. A simple plot + college politics + a girl from the utopian world trying to live in another + typical bwood guy + graphic description of a sensitive case is what the book about. And is sold with a very lovely cover, title and author name. I for one, would never call it a standard. Maybe, my expectations were too high that I fell deep.
      And if you are calling rape and sexual harassment at office places currently spreading issues, please let me tell you that they aren’t. They have been a part of our so called perfect sanskaari society since forever and the way the author handled the aftermaths of these incidents could’ve been a lot better. While I really appreciate the author for including such sensitive topics, I really think it isn’t okay to use the gory details of the case for his plot.
      Anyways, thank you for letting me know your thoughts. You made me go back and think if I really felt that way or was just carried away in the moment. But no, long after the read, I still feel the same about the book and hence the really big reply.
      Take care and good day. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

