Someone said something that’s truer than truth

How much us women are ready to bear only because
– We don’t want to hurt our parents
– We think about the future of our sisters/ brothers
– What will the society think
– What will happen after divorce
– Most of the time we also go ahead and have a baby thinking things will improve
– And when they don’t we don’t get out of marriage because we want a happy family for the baby!

Smitha said this on IHM’s Blog in response to THIS post.

It struck all the chords and I could relate with most of the points. The difference is just that I’m not yet married.

I really wish my life is just plain and simple. I really wish that the only things I have to worry about are, “how to get a wonderful appraisal at work” or “how to make lots and lots of money by doing something I like” or “how to express my love to the person I adore” or “how to get that super cute dress that I’ve been eyeing for long” but not about “how successful arranged marriages are” or “how bad my parents will feel if I tell them about my views on marriage” or “what does this society do to my little family if I revolted against all these stupid norms” or “the way my parents would feel when I say I need more time to settle”.

And someone also said something that cracked me into laughing. Not sure when and where, but the context is that Mark Zuckerberg would never be able to reach those heights of success if he had to think this badly about how his parents would react and accept his decision to like, love and marry a Chinese(not 100% sure) girl.

His life seems comparatively easier. All he has to think is about code and money! God bless that society. I wish I was born in one such place.

Take Care people.
Sahasra

2 thoughts on “Someone said something that’s truer than truth

Leave a Reply

