Unhappy clients

The first time I met a client was some 4 years back. It was 6 months since I started working on the reporting tool and was pretty good at it and then I was in Joberg training to be a consultant. One of the consultant was facing some technical issues on site and requested my manager for help saying that the client was not happy. It was a Friday and when on training it was almost all play with very little work. Most of the team left for the day or were at different clients.
My manager asked me if I can help. I wondered how I could help if the senior consultant couldn’t figure out the issue and told him the same. He then said that the issue might not be with the report but might be with the settings and other technical details. So I agreed to give it a try. It was a short drive but it felt like I was sitting in the car for hours, I was so nervous with a thousand questions in mind. When we reached there the situation was no good either. Of course, the consultant was already on panic mode. He worked so hard to create that beautiful report and he was being bashed with technical issues when it’s time to take all the applause. I would have panicked too if it were me in his place.
I told myself to calm down and started gathering information. It was like writing exam on a subject that you have been learning for the past 6 months. Though not an expert on the tool, I set up the tool running on 4 different machines and knew the technical setup in and out.
The strange thing that I noticed was the client wasn’t in panic mode or didn’t even seem anything near unhappy. He was the Risk manager and responded to all my questions and complied with all my requests. Tell you the truth, he didn’t get a word of what my manager was talking and I had to intervene in between. It was the first time I have talked to someone about something completely technical and they not only understood well but responded me back. That was the first time I experienced the joy of being a techie. I loved taking to the client. Did I mention that he was this tall, dark and handsome guy with the perfect attitude. πŸ™‚ And of course, on his desk, he has pictures of a beautiful woman with a child in her arms. Sshh…my bad, you see!
Coming back to my point, after recreating the whole setup process model and debugging the existing process, we identified that there were a few war and jar files missing which caused problems in accessing the report. And once the missing things were replaced, things worked and the client was really happy with the first look. It was just a minor technical glitch that lead to the whole situation.
The work order was closed successfully after a few more visits that didn’t include me but I was more than happy. Though a small one, I did my part and that too very well. My happiness just doubled when I heard that my manager spoke very highly of me when he went back to India. If it was today’s me, it wouldn’t be a big deal but to that girl who is just 6 months old at the job, it was a great thing.
To this day, I always remember the moments of that day and those memories will stay in my heart forever. Whenever I have to face an unhappy client or clean someone’s mess, I remember that day and those memories.
To this day, client’s requirements haunt me and the thought of talking to an unhappy client terrifies me. But none of this stops me from facing them. I face them straight with a head high touching the sky and never once did I fall on my face. I always left the room with a smile or some hope.
Life isn’t easy but it is memories like these that give us hope and courage to face the everyday mess. And today I have a meeting with one such client and I am dead nervous.
I really wish everything goes well and my coffee count stays in control. πŸ™‚
And I forced myself to bed at 11:30 which was considerably better than the usual 2:30 or 3 am times. I will have to see how well it goes for the rest of the month. And todays addition is my green tea. My cup have been begging me use it since a month and today I’m going to grant it’s humble request. πŸ™‚
I happened to write the post early in the morning and only got a chance to edit now. The meeting went well and I was supposed to talk to her again tomorrow and finalise the solution. I really wish things go well. And I didn’t grant my cup, it’s wish! So to compensate for it, I will be pose in one asana for at least 15 minutes. Tough.. but will have to try!.

Hope you all had a great day.

Love
Sahasra

Leave a Reply

