The Year I Met You by Cecilia Ahern

I probably should held out a disclaimer even before writing out my thoughts about the book. It was years ago when i accidentally stumbled across a Cecilia Ahern book only to find it amazing and magical. It was later that i came to know how successful she was as an author. And i have been a fan of her ever since and instantly keep liking her books. So, i may not be fair over here as i am more of an emotional person than the logical one i always struggle or want to be. What i wanted to say was, though not completely, my liking towards her and her books may tend to show up somewhere or the other and impact my opinions. 🙂

I read the book during January blogathon and that did not leave me enough time to review the book and now, when i tried to remind myself of what i felt while reading the book, my brain came up with nothing. While i was reading the book, it was almost as if, i lived the life of Jasmine, the girl whose story the book was about and yet, i feel an emptiness in my brain when i try to recollect the memories. It was strange as i always felt or had strong and clear opinions about books once i am done reading them. But then, slowly came back all those feelings when i came across certain things or people in my own life. Like the other day, when i was told by someone that i was too close to my family and i never let anyone else come that close. I live far away from them but i never call them everyday. I rarely call and talk to my sister unless there is something that needs to be discussed or needed. But we still know how important we were to each other and my parents knew how emotional i was when it was about them. Like Jasmine in the book, i was too close to my sister and was way more protective of her than i was supposed to be. Sometimes, the book made me wonder about the relation between siblings. Why are we so attached to them? Why do we love them unconditionally? Why do we see them in a different light and why do we think that we know them better than the world? Just because we share our parents, house and some part of life, do we have to do all that? Do we have to give and take so much? The magic this relationship has never ceases to surprise me. One moment we were almost on the verge of killing each other and then in the very next moment, there comes this kindness and love that makes you forgive and forget anything that ever happened and sit down for a meal together. The author made me rethink of all those thoughts i have about my relationship with my sister and no wonder i thought i lived her life. No, my sister isn’t suffering from any kind of syndrome or disease but it was the affection, love, trust and unconditional support that made me feel home. Apart from the love for her sister, the obsession that she had for success, for work, for helping people create better things and having no life other than work are a few things that most of us see in our everyday lives. This has been a growing culture and until unless some sort of miracle happens, you just cannot stay out of that vicious circle.
I really believe when people say that things happen for a reason and that applies to bad things too. Sometimes disasters happen just to get us out of the mess we were sitting in. We just fail to see it at that moment and it only sinks in once we give it enough time. Sometimes, being busy with our lives, we think that everything’s going well and it cannot be any better. It is during these times when disaster strikes us to show us how wrong we were and what’s really wrong with the path we followed.
Our life is always a miracle and no matter what happens, we have to live with hope for the future. I really believe in this and this book says it all in a loud and clear voice.
And finally, Cecilia Ahern still has the secured place in my heart. Love her and her books. Look into her books if you find anytime. They are worth it.

This is a cheat post for the missed post yesterday and since I’m too messed up to write anything using my brain, I edited my review post from drafts and here it is.

Take Care people.

Love
Sahasra

10 thoughts on “The Year I Met You by Cecilia Ahern

        • Don’t feel bad. I’m sure there are many good Indian writers that I don’t know. It happens. There’s always so much to read and we cannot blame ourselves for missing a few. I only used to read serious, spiritual and dark books until a colleague of mine introduced me to the world of contemporary life stories and fantasy fiction. And there’s no looking back after that. 🙂 I now feel that I’m too lucky to have that buddy who introduced me to a new world. 🙂
          And again, it was through Cecilia’s books and movies that I got know about the Irish world. It sounds weird but I do have a crush on Ireland. It is one of my dream destinations. 🙂 Take care.

          • I confess to deliberately avoiding her books as there was so much talk when her first book was published about her being the daughter of our Prime Minister.
            It seems now, though, that she is being recognised as being a strong writer and not just his daughter.
            Oh you’re right to have a crush on Ireland.

            I hear lots about Indian from my family doctor who is Indian and brilliant at his job!

    • Exactly. There is some magic in her stories that make us wish for such fairy tales in our lives.
      I borrowed and read “if you could see me now” from someone long ago. I now want to buy and read it again only to feel that magic again. 🙂
      Thank you for stopping by.

    • 🙂 My reviews are mostly personal. I sometimes even write what my feelings were while reading a particular part. This kind of thing makes reading more personal and closer to the heart rather than just reading the book from end to end. 🙂 I will have to go through your DiaReviews to find some goodreads. Thanks Hey.

Leave a Reply

