The 30-Day Walking Challenge – Day 1 – Oct 01 2015

Life has taken so many twists and turns(should I say twisted turns) in the past few months that I never found any time to pause and think for a while. And if by any chance, my brain is willing enough to go through all that mess and recollect any of those memories, I will gladly post the details of  those dark months as a reminder of all sorts. For better or worse, some things happened and as life always comes in a full circle, it landed me in the very same place I started shattering every possible dream I had in the meanwhile. I guess, I am now starting afresh. Luckily, this week wasn’t a busy one and I got real time to surf through what’s happening around me and trust me there’s lot that I missed while I was neck deep in my own mess. But I hope to cover everything and catch up the pace soon and trust me, I missed reading your stories so much as if they were my own. Things settled down and I even see happiness around the corner and so I’m back here. 🙂

And, I am here today to tell you all about the 30 day walking challenge that I am taking up this month which is just for me and not for anyone else. I have to stop doing things for the wrong reasons and this is the first step. Talking about steps, today I covered some 5000+ steps in 56 minutes. Trust me, it isn’t easy. I have been a couch potato for a while and thought to do 2000 steps today. But then, I wasn’t tired at all after the first 2000 and so proceeded towards the 2nd which was not so easy.

30 day walking challenge

The challenge has a different pace for Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced level walkers. I choose the Intermediate one that starts at 5000 steps a day. The target is to be achieved in 50 minutes. i.e. 500 steps per 5 minutes. The step count gradually increases on a day to day basis and ends at a maximum of 10000 steps. Know what, there are rest days too. Sounds cool right. If you are interested, you can get more details about the 30 Day Walking Challenge by clicking on this link. And the site is the blog on myfitnesspal site. The blog contains many wonderful articles about fitness and food. Check out if you wanna know more.

It is cool because it is doable and is an achievable target. All you need is the determination to walk. I know, that is the hardest part of all. But that is the least I can do for myself. I hope I don’t find any excuses to skip the challenge. I really want to complete this one. My physical fitness levels are at their worst levels and looking at the way I’m going, there is no way I’m getting better without any immediate efforts. So, I will have to complete this without any excuses. Wish me good luck people. I need all the luck I can. My body is already aching with the sudden walking from this evening. But I don’t care. I completed my day 1 successfully and 29 to go. Yayy for me. And I  hope I can do a bit food control too. But that’s for another day and another post. Good Bye for now.

Good night and take care people. And most importantly, spare me a smile and be happy.
Love
Sahasra

7 thoughts on “The 30-Day Walking Challenge – Day 1 – Oct 01 2015

  1. Yeaaahhh for you Sahasra, that is awesome. It is that 1st step that is always the hardest, but doing 5,000 steps on your very 1st day is absolutely AMAZING! To compare with running for myself, some days I can’t wait to get at it, other days, well not so much. But always feel that much better when it is done. 🙂

    I am sincerely sorry to hear about the dark months. As I look around, so often I have no idea what a person might be having to deal with. Those dark times can SO difficult. Thank you for opening up and sharing. It takes a very strong person to do just that!

    Take care Sahasra. All the best. I KNOW you will be great on your 30 day challenge! 🙂

    ~Carl~

    • Thank you Carl. I really did well yesterday and for some reason, I was just too motivated. I still feel motivated and I just wish this feeling never goes. This motivated me is awesomely wonderful. 🙂
      But I really think that I should’ve started with a lesser count. Still on my bed and my body feels like a mess with muscle cramps. But I’m not going to back off at any cost.
      And yes, it was hard all these months. Every single post of mine reflected my emotional state. Even I was tired of all the negativity and sadness I’m spreading and decided not to post anything untill I’m all okay. There was so much I wanted to speak and no one to go. It’s really sad as I tried so hard to adjust to the situations and they just went on going worse. Maybe, that’s for my best. I was trying hard to be someone I’m not and I guess it wouldn’t have done me any good even if it all worked. That way I’m saved. It takes a lot to share but I gave up in the middle and almost decided to delete the blog. But it was people who liked my posts and followed my blog when I had least interest in my blog, stopped me from doing that.
      I should’ve written a thank you post first. I never knew likes and follows made me so happy. 🙂
      Sorry for the Very long rant Carl. Thanks for being there.

  2. Thank you for being comfortable to share. Having others acknowledge you for who you are goes an amazing distance. And I am so glad you are still sharing on your blog.
    As for day 2 of your 30 day challenge, I know you can do it. Maybe that 1st step on day 2, might be the hardest. You have it in you.
    Have a great day! 🙂
    ~Carl~

  3. Oh yes I am going to give this a go for sure..All the best to you ..

    What is going in .. I can understand. . Life is such ups and downs .. I am sure everything will be fine soon.. Take care of yourself..

Leave a Reply

