Early morning musings

I am going home and i cannot tell you how happy that makes me. I know how this feeling worked like an energy drink throughout the day, yesterday. I completed every single task that i was supposed to do. Knowing that my list never gets done, this was a rare thing that happened yesterday. Going home always had such effect on me. It always made me happy. Nothing in the process makes me uncomfortable. 

The long bus journey, the stopover in between, a sleep deprived night, leaves taken at the office, the torture of work from home and having to sort out the house when mum’s away. The fact that I’m going home alone kills all the pain and trouble.

I really don’t know what it is about going home that makes me so happy. Was it the maternal home, was it the thought of being with parents and being their priority again, or was it the chance to be irresponsible and free for a while. I have no clue on what causes this happiness. I’m just glad there are certain things that still make me happy everytime I come across them. In the deluxe bus i sit, all i see is steel around me, but touchwood in my mind.

The stopover was vijayawada our new capital city and by the early morning looks of it, i can say it has changed quite a bit. Wider and cleaner roads, redesigned paths and a clean bus station. And i must say, the city looked beautiful in those early morning lights and anyways, it always looked beautiful in the mornings but this time, a bit more cleaner.

And as i take the local village bus instead of the express to my home town, i find the real hustle of the early hour riders with a few even playing folk songs out loud on their phones. With the bus stopping at every village on the route, it sure does take longer than the usual time but i cannot stop loving the journey. 

The city might change but a few things like, the sky with a colour canvas painted with layers of light navy blue, white, sky blue and pale orange, the lush green paddy fields at the end where the skies end, a few long and white wild flowers, the palm trees all around them, the nude or at times the algae green canal water, and the cool air that tries to kill me when i open the window for pics, are a few things that never change. And the sun hasn’t risen yet.

I will be home in another 20 minutes where my family awaits my arrival. My little sister is already there for holidays and i cannot wait to see her. She’s doing her Masters degree in Mysore and we don’t get to see her very often.And so the time she comes home is precious and i had planned my leave around her schedule.

It is 6:12 am in the morning and the sun is just coming up. Isn’t the rising sun a beautiful visual? To the dull and pale colurs of the morning, a vibrance adds up as soon as the sun rises. It is as if the arrival of someone special adds colour and spice to your life. I wish i could see my sun. And i was now wondering, why do we call the Earth as She and the Sun as He? Fair it isn’t, but anyways, as i arrive at my destination, i take your leave folks. 

Have a great morning and a great day as well. Take care people.

With love, SahasraπŸ˜€πŸ’•

2 thoughts on “Early morning musings

  1. Sahasra, I know I am super late but this post resonated so well with me. I still feel the same excitement going home. And when you mentioned Vijayawada, I perked up πŸ˜€ If you dont mind, which is your hometown? My maternal grandparents village is about 1.5 hrs away from vza and am really hoping you would say the same name πŸ™‚

    • πŸ˜€ To me it is so funny how i feel in the exact same way every single time i go home and had to write that post.
      I don’t mind giving that out. I think I’m getting bolder by the day!
      My home town is Gudivada and mum comes from a nearby village called Kanumuru and Dad from another village called Pedamuttevi. They are totally based over there and have relatives all around. They say this often.. throw a stone and it will definitely hit a relative by some shot, Close or Distant. Those are such close knit communities. 😊
      And what’s your grandparents village? I’m excited to know.

Leave a Reply

