Short stay in Melbourne 

I have an offer from office to go Melbourne for a period of 3 months which will be somewhere between late December and early March. 

Experience wise, it is a good opportunity and financially it means nothing but I’m considering taking it. My reason is simple. I always wanted to leave India for Europe or Australia. I can use this chance to test my theory. See if i will like the place, people, culture etc and decide of it’s worth all the immigration effort.If the decision is to move there, i will have a first hand experience of what I’m going into. 

And so, the question now is about accommodation. I was told that i will be provided accommodation for a few weeks (2 to 3) and then will have to search for a place on my own. I don’t have anyone over there who can immediately offer me some space to live for 3 months even if it is a paid one. I have acquaintances who are ex-colleagues but I’m not sure if I can ask them for such a big favour.

So, in case if anyone’s reading this, i wanted to know the living conditions in Melbourne at this point of time, what to expect and what not to expect and how can i find an affordable accommodation for just 3 months.

I still need to figure out what i will be receiving as per diem allowance and the exact location details in Melbourne.

As I’m running a bit clueless over here, any kind of links or pointers or advice is welcome. Also welcome are any advice on what to wear and what not to wear to Office in Melbourne. 

Just so that you know, i am a 27 year old Indian female with travelling plans to Australia.

Thanks in advance

2 thoughts on “Short stay in Melbourne 

  1. Hey Sahasra! Good luck with this opportunity. I am sure it would be a great experience. Not sure if you are already in Australia since I’m so late on this post. Hope everything works out well.
    Do share the experience. 🙂

    • Thank you Aarya.
      I’m still waiting for my visa. Once i get it, I will be there for 3 months. And the rest depends on how i perform.
      I too hope that things go out well. 😊
      And this time, i will have to document the experience. I already regret not documenting the South African experience. So, yes i will.
      Have a nice day Aarya. 😎

Leave a Reply

