Smoking

Do you smoke? Even for fun, have you ever smoked?

To me smoking and smokers are the only things that put me off instantly. I have a very strong sense of smell and the minute a smoker comes into my zone, I start getting irritated. I make faces and then straightaway ask them in face of they smoke. Usually I am a very humble and thoughtful person who is considerate of others feelings. But this one thing makes me forego all my manners and shows the rude and bitchy side of me even to complete strangers.

The other day it was a colleague who had to face my wrath. I now seriously wonder if he thinks I’m the crazy girl who cannot mind her business. He is a nice guy but somehow rubs off everyone the wrong way and people are a little bit harsh to him and are very quick to judge him. Though i defend him when others start bashing about him, i think i let all those words get the best of me and judged him too harshly in the first instance.

He said he started smoking as a way to show solidarity with a friend who was depressed and lost someone recently. Now he smokes 5 cigarettes per day and he thinks it is okay. Ever since i lashed at him, i keep wondering if it was his foolish love for smoking that annoys me or people’s words that entered my brain and made me act so childish.

Either way it is smoke from cigarette or from people’s nasty thoughts that clouded my judgement that I now regret. I should’ve known better. Today I make a promise that no matter what others say, i will never let their shady words cloud my judgement or my actions and I promise to be kind to myself and to others as well no matter what their habits are.

Anyways, take care guys.

Love, Sahasra

4 thoughts on “Smoking

  1. I can’t stand smoking/smokers too. The only person I ever forgave *or was an exception* was my Thathaya who was a chain smoker. Otherwise, I can’t stand the smoke at all and wonder what makes it so good for these people.

    Just yesterday the husband and I were discussing how everyone in his team smokes (I mean the guys) and I was shocked to know that couple of them are into weed too. All these guys are in their mid-twenties. Sigh. Looks like they spend 30K per month just to keeping these habits active. What a waste of money and health.

    • Exactly. Makes me go insane.
      The guys in my team are worse… all in their early twenties and all of them have started smoking as a style statements while in collage. Stupid kids. See how I’m saying, as if I’m their Dadi. But these guys na! Can’t tell you how I force them to go use a spray before coming anywhere near my desk. 😊. I’m the 😈

  2. This post made me laugh. I studied media in a college in Mumbai. Almost all my classmates smoked, both girls and boys. I was always hanging out with them and the smoking never bothered me. I still have a lot of friends who do weed, and this is actually less harmful than the nicotine and tar in cigarettes. I don’t mind it at all.

    The only time i politely request people to not smoke is in my car. It’s really hard to get the smell out of the seats. Even then, I offer to pull over on the side and wait until they have finished their ciggie.

    I think I would only object if my loved ones or people exceptionally close to me took to smoking. Only because I would worry about the adverse effects on their health. With the rest of the world, I don’t really judge. Thankfully, I don’t hang out with people who make me feel suffocated because of their smoking either.

    • Oh.. okay. I think i know it is bad to judge them for silly things but this one thing i just cannot help and my a little too sensitive nose does no good.
      But you make a good point. It is none of my business. I will keep that in mind the next time. Thank you Pepper.

Leave a Reply

