World cup cricket 2017 – Semis

I haven’t seen a more interesting cricket match in the recent years. True, it has been years since I have stopped watching cricket actively, but have always followed what’s happening in the cricket world. Well, the match isn’t over yet but it is worth all the applause it is getting. Never did i expect that a women’s cricket match would make me go all crazy about cricket and i would end up writing a post about it.

Yes, i am talking about a women’s cricket match. Why would i not. It is a world cup semi-final match between India and the defending champions Australia. India scored 280 in their first innings in just 42 overs with Harman Preet Kaur scoring 170 plus not out. Trust me, it is just not about the numbers. It is the adrenaline rush the match is giving. Just had to wait out the sluggish intial overs in the 1st innings and then it is a treat. I can now proudly say that I have watched one awesome innings in the history of cricket. I sure have tonnes of regrets missing many a wonderful matches in this veey short 28 year old life time but this is match is a medicine that eases out all those regretful days.

Somewhere within, i am a little bit proud that this is a women’s match that I am raving so much about. To hell with fairness, i am happy and proud that i am seeing a women’s cricket match on TV with all the commercials and commentary like a proper cricket match in a stadium filled with a decent crowd. I know 2nd innings is boring when it is the opposite team chasing but still this match wants me to watch. It reminds me of the 2015 men’s world cup semi-final where India lost to Australia chasing a 300 plus target. 

I am not much inclined to the technicalities of the game as i never really played cricket and is just an ardent fan and supporter. So, I’ll spare you the technical details of the match and ask you to just turn on your tv and watch this match. No matter who wins, women are the winners and India already won my heart with the batting and bowling untill now. If India took over Australia today, it is history for Indian cricket. Taking over such a team is just something amazing. I just wish that one day, in my country called India, where cricket is a religion, it becomes common for a woman to come out and play cricket on the street and be taken seriously by the people around.

I’m yawning and dying to sleep but just struggling tostay awake untik the match ends. Hope you all like it as much as I can.

7 thoughts on “World cup cricket 2017 – Semis

    • Yaayy Mona. I’m so happy they topped off such a wonderful start with a win.
      I couldn’t wait until the celebrations and just drowsed into sleep after the last wicket. It was almost 5am in the morning for me but the feeling is amazing.
      It felt as if the women got revenge for all of us for all those world cup losses we had witg Australia. Aah.. the sweet feeling of revenge πŸ˜‹πŸ˜€πŸ˜Žβ˜ΊοΈπŸ€—

      • Yup, the best part is finally people are watching women’s cricket. I have to admit even I never showed any interest in Women’s cricket before even though I am a big cricket follower but now slowly we are looking into it.
        Hope we win the cup and things change in sports for women. πŸ™‚

    • True, i was hooked to the TV. Glad that i was channel hopping when i found the match.
      But we have to agree that it is the bowlers that brought us this victory. If not for that wonderful bowling, we would have lost the match for sure.
      I think the fact that both the teams played so well and our team winning against the best team in the world, just made the already sweet victory extra delicious.

      • Well I will differ I think it’s team as whole.. because if we did not have runs
        . Bowlers would have been under pressure.. but now they bowled fearless as had enough runs on board.. hence the confidence and when confident everything works out..
        Harmanpreet brought memories of kapil dev 175 against Zimbabwe in the world cup that india one then..
        So fingers crossed we need one more good day in the field…

        • Can’t not agree with the argument but having watched the 2nd innings and how the bowlers​ did their best makes me a little partial and I’m not a big fan of one man innings either even though i loved Harman Preets batting. πŸ˜‹πŸ˜ŽπŸ€—

Leave a Reply

